acceptance · Catholic · family · kindness

Misunderstandings

Has it ever happened to you ?  Has anyone ever been misunderstood – misunderstood by the ones closest to you ?  I have. A lot.  It’s funny, really – how life works; how relationships work.  I have come to accept the fact that being misunderstood by those closest to me is just going to have to be one of the crosses I must bear in life.  It hurts.  But trying to explain often makes matters worse, so sometimes it’s just better to allow the other person to continue in their belief that my intentions were not good.

So, what is all of this babbling about ?

Why is this post not making much sense ?

Am I just someone who wants to complain ?

No.  I don’t want to complain, and I’ll tell you what this is all about.

I smiled.

It wasn’t a big smile – just a quick, little, flash of a smile.  I smiled because I had just told my husband that the smell he was commenting about was not his dinner burning, just a spill on the hot stove.  After I informed him of that, I flashed a quick smile to show him all was well.  Ooops.

Suddenly all was not well.  “I saw that. I saw that smug little smile.” he said to me.  I was surprised.  He had totally misunderstood my intentions.

“No.” I said.  “I wasn’t – I didn’t…”

“I know what I saw.  Don’t be like that.”

Well, I could have done one of two things.  I could have stood there and defended myself, and continue to insist upon my good intentions, which would only bring about an argument.  OR  I could just allow him to continue believing that I was being smug – after all, he knew what he saw.  Well, I chose the latter.

I chose to continue to be misunderstood, rather than to get into an argument with my husband – especially since all of this was taking place in front of my son.

I later practiced that little smile in front of the mirror. Oh boy.  It did appear smug.  Wow.  I will never use that expression again.  I really didn’t intend for it to come off like that.

So, I ended up apologizing to my husband – as always.

I guess being misunderstood is part of life.  After all, Christ was misunderstood more than anyone else ever was.  He didn’t defend Himself.  I should try to be more Christ-like, even if it hurts sometimes.

Comment

