family · gratitude · Memories

The Day AFTER Mother’s Day

Well, today I will begin by sharing  with you what Mother’s Day 2017 was like for me.  First of all, I had been feeling really down the past few days.  I was dwelling over the fact that my teen son, my only child, now seems to hate me.  (I know it’s just a phase, but at that moment it seemed final)  I was also dwelling over the fact that our mother – son relationship had been very strained lately.  To top it off, I am now of an age where I will never be able to conceive a child of my own.  (we adopted my son 14 years ago)  And finally, I am still continuing to have seizures on a daily basis.  I felt that I was under so much weight, and that I was pretty much useless.  Yep.  I was depressed, and I had it pretty bad,  That is until…  A lot of things began to happen that Mother’s Day.  One by one I began to see.  Once I dried up the tears and put my focus on those around me, on the beautiful family that God has blessed me with, I began to see just how much I really have.  I love my family and would never want anything to happen to them,  I am so grateful for the time that the good Lord has given me with them.  Around three o’clock in the afternoon, my husband had a very caring, loving talk with me.  It was obvious that I wasn’t happy, and he helped me to see how there is no reason for me not to be happy.  I am blessed.  So blessed.  I had allowed myself to focus on the negative rather than on all of the positive aspects in my life.  And there are so many more positive than negative.  After receiving such an uplifting talk, and a big hug, from my husband,  I felt much better, and realized how silly I had been to allow myself to be “down in the dumps”.  I walked out into the kitchen only to discover a dozen red roses, a bag of candy, and two cards on the table.  Standing beside the table was my husband and son, both with big smiles on their faces.  “Open mine first!”  The words of my son, who also gave me a big hug.  That evening my husband took us all out to eat at Outback Steakhouse.  I realized, yet again, how blessed I am to be a part of such a wonderful family.  I hope all mothers out there had a very Happy Mother’s Day.  This video should put a smile on any mother’s face!

2 thoughts on “The Day AFTER Mother’s Day

Comment

