family · Memories · Mother & Son

Bows, Arrows, & Mom

“No, no. no.  You’re holding it wrong.  You have to put your fingers like this, well here, let me show you how.”  Those were the words of my fourteen year old son as he tried to show me how to shoot a bow & arrow that he had made himself.  He had done a pretty good job on it, and he was proud of his handiwork , as well he should have been.  So what was I doing with it ?  Why was I trying to shoot a bow & arrow at a paper target in our backyard ?  Was that something I really felt like doing at the time ?  Well, yes and no.  Lately I had been a bit depressed, as you may have been able to tell by my last post.  I had been feeling like my son no longer needed me or wanted me around.  I was so used to the days when he was little and would constantly ask me to play with him or read to him, or simply spend time with him.  I was beginning to accept that now that he is older, he doesn’t need or want me around anymore.  That is, until today.  My son came, full of excitement, running into the room where I was sitting.  “Mama!  Mama!” He began, almost out of breath,  “let’s have a contest shooting this bow and arrow that I made! Please! Say yes, Mama, c’mon!”  Shocked at the fact that my fourteen year old actually wanted me to take part in an activity with him, I jumped at the chance.  “Sure. Okay.” I said calmly.  “You will ?? Aw, thanks, Mom!  I’ll let you have my brownie if you win!”  He added, still not sure that I was really going to try this.  So there we were.  Bonding.  It’s something that I could have only dreamed of; a close moment with my teen.  I may not have had much interest in learning how to shoot a bow and arrow, but my interest was(and is) in my son.  I decided to enter into his world for a bit; to take a look at life through his eyes.  I learned something in that moment.  I learned that my son still needs me, that he still wants me by his side, just in a different way than before.  I learned something else, too.  Shooting a bow and arrow isn’t as easy as it looks!  So, as I listened to the words of my son instructing me on the proper way to hold the bow, I couldn’t help but tear up a little.  My baby was still here.  He has not gone away, but simply grown a bit.  And now, I need him by my side; to help, to guide, to teach me, just as I had done with him in the past.  It isn’t one way or the other.  We each need each other and always will.  Oh, and he shared his brownie with me anyway!

 

Comment

