epilepsy · home-school

A Unique Individual

Being a home-school mom, there’s always the occasional negative comment, or the stare that seems to say, “Why don’t you send your kid to a ‘real‘ school ?”  I find that it isn’t even worth it to explain to certain individuals, because they’ve already made up their minds about home-schooling, so I just don’t bother.  With home-schooling, you either believe in it or you don’t.  There’s no in between.  Well, now let’s confuse the issue a little further.  Add to this the fact that I have epilepsy.  Now there’s something that really gets the stares and the comments going.  I don’t even have to be having a seizure at the time to cause the staring.  Here is what I mean:  I could be feeling just fine, and others around me will start staring at me as if they’re just waiting for me to have a seizure.  I wonder if they realize how ridiculous that makes them look.  Some people have even had the nerve to come up to me and ask me if I’m going to have a seizure!  Of course, I don’t mean to compare home-schooling to epilepsy, and I don’t mean to give the impression that home-schooling is a negative thing either.  I chose to home-school my child from the very beginning.  I chose it because I believe that it is the best thing for my son at this time.  I’m proud to be a home-school parent.  But you know something else ?  I’m also proud to have epilepsy.  Having epilepsy has made me into a stronger person.  It’s because of my epilepsy that I am a mother to my son today.  That’s right.  If I didn’t have epilepsy I would have never even considered adoption, and therefore, someone else would have been the mother of my dear son.  God does work in mysterious ways!  Now this doesn’t mean that I like having epilepsy – nothing could be further from the truth.  I can’t stand it!  But, I accept it, and I am grateful for the positive outcomes that have occurred as a direct result of my having epilepsy.    Home-schooling and epilepsy – just how do these two things tie together ?  What makes one similar to the other ?  The answer ?  Nothing.  There is nothing about home-schooling that has anything to do with epilepsy.  Nothing, that is, other than me.  I have epilepsy, and I’m a home-schooling mom.  I’m the tie between two things that otherwise have nothing to do with the other.  That is one thing that makes me unique.  Oh, there are plenty of other home-schooling moms out there, and there are plenty of other people with epilepsy out there as well.  But a home-school mom who has epilepsy and suffers from daily seizures, well, there aren’t too many of us around.  At first, I felt alone because of it.  I felt isolated.  No longer.  I am not alone, but rather, I am a unique individual.  Unique individuals.  That is what makes up this world.  God knows what He is doing, and He doesn’t make mistakes.  God made me to live the life that He has called me to live, in the way that He has called me to live it.  He has given me free will to choose right from wrong.  In His wisdom, God has left that choice up to me, as He has for every individual.  Where our choices lead us is up to us.

2 thoughts on “A Unique Individual

  1. Reading your post brought me to tears! I love how you have accepted your uniqueness and worth in God’s eyes 🙂 You wrote, “God made me to live the life that He has called me to live, in the way that He has called me to live it”. It’s so true; we have all been created with both strengths and weaknesses, and the Lord has equipped us perfectly for his unique calling in our lives. For you that includes having epilepsy; for others it may be something different but equally challenging. God bless your homeschooling journey and walk with Him!

    Liked by 1 person

Comment

